DIY Thread Spool Holder

Beautiful Spool HolderI really enjoy when I have wanted or needed something for my house for ages (but time, money or more important things get in the way of getting it) and then suddenly pops into my head, ‘OH I can make that’. It normally happens as all great things do when your not thinking about it and you come across an item or an idea and you go ‘Hey I’ve got it!’. Such a think happened this weekend when I needed a nail to hang a picture up and while rummaging through my nail/hardware junk tin I came across some very long nails which my dad had given me in his own tool box clear out. It suddenly clicked they would be the perfect size to fit thread spools on and I since I had wanted/needed a spool holder everything else came together in my head. The result my wonderful DIY thread holder which I made completely for free. yay!

You will need: A long piece of cardboard with a width that will fit the amount of spools you want, masking tape, fabric that will cover the cardboard, long nails (as many as you want spools), a hammer, sewing machine or needle and thread

spool holder cardboard1. Fold the the long piece of card board over several times so you get a rectangular piece with several layers of cardboard and then secure it with masking tape.

2. Take the fabric you want to cover it in and cut it to size. You want it to go around the cardboard shape covering back and front with enough space around the sides for a seam. Sew a seam around three sides  (or two if you have folded it over) with the right sides of the fabric facing. Turn the right way round and slip the cardboard into the pocket you’ve made, like a pillow into a pillowcase

spool holder cover3. You can finish the open edge by stitching a straight line across the the top with the excess fabric folded either in on it’s self or round to the back. As I had quite slippery material I used masking tape to secure it first (strong enough to hold in place but never damages fabric)

4. Measure out where you want to put your nails and mark them on the side of the cardboard you want to be at the front. You can mark with pen to make it clear as you will be driving the nails through the fabric so you won’t see the marks.

Spool holder with nails in 5. Place a nail one at a time on it’s mark and drive it through the fabric and cardboard until it reaches the other side but doesn’t go through the cardboard at the back. You want to drive each nail through at an angle, between 35-45 degrees to vertical so the spools don’t slip off. It’s also a good idea to do the hammering on top of a surface that won’t get damaged like a cutting board or another piece of cardboard.

6. The fabric will be pulled into the cardboard by the nail so to create a neat finish slowly pull it out  along the nail so it sits against the cardboard once more

spool holder up right7. You are then ready to use it. You can either lay it flat on a table or store on a shelf, or you can mount it on the wall. I will mount it eventually but I want to get the right positioning before I start nailing anything into my walls. To mount it I would probably use some smaller nails or pins that I could drive into the back of the holder, wrap string around them and make it like a picture frame. I would then use a standard picture hook to hang it.

spool holder with sewing machine

I love that I will now have easy access to my most used threads and they won’t sit in a box getting tangled up. I like the bright fabric I used, an of cut from a skirt I made a few years ago, which will brighten up my craft room walls when I hang it up. Have you ever had a project you just didn’t know how to do and it revealed itself in a flash of genius? or are you still looking for inspiration?

Lorna

x xxx

Leave a Reply

